Grouptour

Grouptour
2.8
63 / 1,035
5 12
4 12
3 7
2 15
1 17
96.9% of 1,035 travelers were presumably happy with Grouptour as they left good or no review


Grouptour VIP Sleeper 41 outside
Grouptour

Quick company Intro
Grouptour is one of the countless private operators on the hugely popular tourist route connecting Hanoi with Sapa. With Grouptour you know that you’ll be arriving in the centre of Sapa and won’t have the hassle of changing in Lao Cai as is the case if you were to choose to make the trip by train.

Routes served by Grouptour
Grouptour offers one route only, making the scenic journey through the mountains to Sapa before heading back again to Hanoi. There are three buses each day leaving Hanoi for Sapa, departing at 06.30, 13.00, 22.00 which are scheduled to arrive at 12.00, 19.30 and 04.30 (the next morning) respectively. The trip will take 6 ½ hours and is priced at VND230,000 in either direction.

Visitors leaving Sapa for Vietnam’s capital, Hanoi, have even greater choice. There are five buses every single day making the trip, leaving at 08.00, 13.00, 14.30, 15.30 and 22.00, which are scheduled to arrive in Hanoi throughout the day between 04.30 and 22.00. With such a variety of departure and arrival times, there is sure to be one which fits your schedule.

Pros
Grouptour tickets tend to be cheaper than those offered by its competitors so is a popular option for visitors on a budget. Prices are also far lower than train tickets between Hanoi and Sapa, with the added bonus of not having to change at Lao Cai and making the remainder of the trip by bus.

There are a very good range of services offered by Grouptour so there is bound to be at least one departure that will suit you, whether you need to arrive in Sapa in time for a trek or to make sure you don’t miss a flight from the airport in Hanoi.

Cons
Due to the low cost, Grouptour services are not always the highest quality. The buses themselves can be older than you’d find elsewhere and may not necessarily be as comfortable as you’d like.

Another major issue with travelling by bus is that delays are fairly common, it’s not unusual to arrive an hour or so late so bear this in mind if you are on a tight schedule. Even with delays the journey will still be quicker than catching the train though!

Keep in mind
Grouptour is one of the cheapest options for reaching Sapa from Hanoi and the service you receive can reflect this. If you’re cornered about the quality or comfort of the buses then you might want to consider paying a little more with another operator.

What travellers say
Grouptour is one of the most popular transport operators with budget travellers as it is a very cheap and fairly reliable service to take you to Sapa. Although it might not be as comfortable as a sleeper train, it costs less than half the amount and will get you there in less time as well. This makes it a popular choice with those visiting on a tight schedule.

Usually the biggest cause for complaints are delays and the comfort aboard the buses. Unfortunately, delays are commonplace across Vietnam, whether you are travelling by bus or train, and there is little that can be done to avoid this. It might make you feel better to know that even taking the almost inevitable delays into account, you’ll still almost certainly arrive at your destination more quickly than if you’d made the trip by train.

The comfort of Grouptour services is a common issue but is to be expected from a budget option. You can pay far more with other operators for a slightly better standard but whether you consider this worthwhile is entirely up to you.


August 2.6

July 3.2

June 1.6



August 2017

Amelia, Aug 17, 2017 - The vans were on time and people were friendly. However; they pack you into a van. There was no room for luggage so, they had to make a wall of luggage at the door, which was falling onto people. Also, the driver was driving fast on pot holes and turns. Overall could have been better, but was cheap and convenient
Debora, Aug 12, 2017 - It was a 7 seater, but finally with 10 people. Driver wasn't a save driver. There are better and cheaper alternatives to travel.
Craig, Aug 12, 2017 - Very poor, got ripped off and lied too. Paid for a premium service and got nothing as promised. Very disappointed
Jeroen, Aug 11, 2017 - Nice seats, good airco, on time, pleasent driving. From Sapa to our hotel in Hanoi. We would do it again!
Chia, Aug 4, 2017 - Guests have to tell the bus operator in advance where they're planning to head towards. Friendly people who try their best to understand what I'm trying to say!
Angel, Aug 1, 2017 - Someone "lost" our booking for a full bus so we had to stay and wait for the next bus.
Alvaro, Aug 1, 2017 - The van went out of diesel and the driver, that was new, didn't know how to open the deposit tank. We lost half an hour. Another problem is that we had to be at 6 at the office but it was closed (and remained close after we depart). The driver didn't understand a single word in English. Just one bottle of water and that's all. Positive points: the van is really a luxury van and comfortable. The road is slow and I guess for occidental drivers will call their attention the way the Vietnamese drive. Spectacular landscapes.

July 2017

Angel, Jul 28, 2017 - My wife's seat was broken and it was unable to move it and my place had the exit of the Aircon broken.
Shauna, Jul 27, 2017 - Very good service.
Fleur, Jul 27, 2017 - We booked a luxury van from Hanoi to Sapa. It would be a 8 persons van. We paid for This van put we where placed on a sleepingbus! We had a delaying of 2 hours. After we where placed on this big bus, we called the company and they told us they had made a mistake and that we would be overplaced to the luxury van. After we agreed we got a textmassage that it was not possible anymore. They told us we would get our money back. Still didn't happen... Don't trust this company. - 12Go: Dear Fleur Walraven We are very sorry for the inconvenience and are processing your refund immediately.
Stacey, Jul 18, 2017 - The journey was very pleasant. The lounge chairs made the ride relaxing. It was worth the money and I would definitely use this company and the VIP bus again
Jurie, Jul 12, 2017 - Ride was good and comfortable mostly. But the aircon should've been colder and i had no headrest or blanket. Bus was neat and clean and we arrived on time (even though we departed a bit late).
Justine, Jul 8, 2017 - We already traveled a lot with 12 go Asia and were satisfied so far. This trip was terribly disapointing. Therefore we might never ask for your service again. We are not satisfied at all for many reasons. 1. The pick up point was not the real one. As written on the reservation, we walk to a hotel far from the center at the top of a hill. There was neither someone waiting for us nor clients. We eventually met a person in charge who was not able to answer any question. He didn't know the time the bus was arriving nor anything about the journey/crossing the border. The guy told us eventualluy the bus was maybe arriving soon but we had to walk till the center. It was raining very strongly. He suggested we could order a taxi to get there but wouldn't pay for it. Eventually we walk till the real pick up point. 2. The bus was 1h30 late. 3. The guy from the hostel paid the driver in cash. We could see that nothing was officially done. 4. We had two sleeping seats but there were at least 25 persons on the floor for a 9 hours long drive. It was awful, people on the floor were trying to get our seets as we tried to sleep. Too much people in a bus in not bearable. 5. In the middle of the night (around 4:30), the driver wok us up. They get us off. Then they ask us to go on another smaller and older bus with seats. We waited in this bus alone for 2h at least. Then the driver arrived, started the bus. We picked up people and left to the boarder which we crossed fine. 6. The way from the border till Luang Prabang was very long and very "sporty". The bus didn't fit fr such roads. The driver stopped many times to pick people and stuffs. He even stopped to wash the bus !! 7. It was written on the reservation that we should arrive at 12:00 but we arrived at 7:30. IT WAS A 24:00 LONG DRIVE ! We believe that what we experienced does not worth a 1 000 000 vnd journey each !!
Erik, Jul 7, 2017 - Beside of the cracky wifi connection I enjoined the trip very much :)
Bohumil, Jul 5, 2017 - We have bus in 2.7.2017 4:30PM from Sapa to Ha Long, bus leaves Sapa in 4PM without us, because it was totally full. Dont do reservation on this website, we got confirmation email and everything looks clear, but when bus comes to Sapa it wastotally full and no places for us was there. We were in meeting point 2 hours before... So if you do reservation you just waste your money and got nothing for them... never do reservation with 12go.asia...!!! - 12Go: Dear Bohumil Hurda Many of our partners run multiple buses per day. You did not have tickets for the 4:00 bus. You have tickets marked for 4:30, hence why the 4:00 bus was full and you could not travel at that time. We contacted the operator and they informed us that you were indeed able to travel with the tickets you purchased from us at the appropriately scheduled time so it confuses us as to why you think you wasted your money and got nothing from us... As always, our customers are more than welcome to contact us via our support system if they encounter any difficulties such as this and we will always do everything possible to remedy the situation. Best regards, 12Go Asia
Eimear, Jul 4, 2017 - The bus was leaking water on my seat and my boyfriends so we were drenched the whole journey as it was pouring very heavily. The bus driver did nothing about it.
Eleanor, Jul 3, 2017 - The driver was really rude and didn't speak really any English, and they were beeping the horn all the time even though people were sleeping. Also they kept randomly stopping and lied about how far away all the toilet stops were. Really dissatisfied. Other customers said the same to us .

June 2017

Floris, Jun 17, 2017 - We arrived in Hanoi at 3:30AM and as stated on the ticket we were allowed to sleep on the bus until 6, which was nice as we had a connecting bus at 7:15. However, upon arriving we all had to get out and upon questioning the driver on wether we could stay on the bus he was very unfriendly and almost threw us out. Had to stay on the streets for 4 hours...
Daniela, Jun 11, 2017 - Internet connection was very bad, you cannot charge your devices, the light up your head did not work....
Mate, Jun 9, 2017 - It was pure horror. The buses are just with locals, the driver was very rude and can't speak a word english neighter understand anything. As we've crossed the border the bus was full of goods to carry to their destination and we have to stop very often. We've got the same trip like other travellers but they've paid half of the price we've paid on 12go.asia by buying the ticket at the bus station of Sapa (355 dong for the hole trip). - 12Go: Dear Almut Gelenava We apologize for the poor experience and will speak with the bus operator in hopes that they can improve. As for the price - we cannot sell for less than we do now as per our contract. This being South East Asia, you can sometimes find staff selling any remaining seats at the last moment for much less and off the books, which is illegal but there is little we can do about this. Best regards, Spencer Tiesse, 12Go Business Development Team [Support case #145235](https://12go.asia/en/support-case?token=UzYzMHl2TE15cy8wRFFrMDlNM3lOZlRNTE0rTUN2WTA4OHdKeW9nS0x6Rk9NakxOVGpKT01ZaktUY2xKem5iS1RLdzByVXdKOXJJTUR5MXc5dlh3OGtoeHpTbjFDd3R6OW8zSThQQjE4Y3VKeXN0eFNYYTB0UVVB)

May 2017

Chuan, May 8, 2017 - Late pickup at 8am instrad of 6.45am. Arrive late at 1.30pm. No wifi.

April 2017

Matthew, Apr 19, 2017 - Positives: Bus got us where we needed to go and on time. It was reasonably priced. Negatives: not a lot of communication around what was going on. We loaded baggage into the bus to then catch a separate mini bus to later get on the same bus. We got dropped off not at the bus station. But at a hotel/tourist center in town where his mate clearly works to get us to make further travel plans. - 12Go: Dear Matthew Sparks Our apologies for the hassle and we have reported this to the operator. Hope the rest of your trip goes more smoothly.
Chris, Apr 16, 2017 - 90 minutes late, no ticket office as stated on the booking form - caused a lot of confusion. Took over an hour to get through to one of the sleepy individuals on the end of the two telephone numbers. They were of little help. One said they would be 15 minutes and extended this a number of time before we finally got picked up - no apology or explanation provided. In fact, the driver denied he was late when I questioned him ("no, no no" where his words). Driver was erratic and clearly not qualified to drive the vehicle. During a break he said it would be 30 minutes - after 30 minutes we were all back at the bus and he was again 20 minutes late. He would not answer his phone during this time. We left Hanoi at 8.00 when it should have been 6.30 and due to the drivers extended break and lack of punctuality we arrived in Sapa at 2.30 instead of the 12.30 stated on the booking form and website. We took a completely different bus home despite booking a return with this company. They can not be trusted. - 12Go: Thank you for informing us of the problem with your trip to Sapa. It's quite unusual (all other passengers have given them 5 star reviews) and we have spoken with Sapa Shuttle Bus about removing this driver from the route. We really wish that you had informed us that you were not going to travel with Sapa Shuttle on the return trip as we could have refunded your ticket at no cost.

March 2017

Anna, Mar 20, 2017 - Very nice and comfortable! Highly recommended

February 2017

Victoria, Feb 12, 2017 - Terrible service. No one to greet us, no office for the operator. We stood around for an hour at the pick up point and no one knew of Group Tour - the operator. Eventually a minibus brought us to Sa Pa but not even sure it was the one we booked. No answer on any of the help line numbers. Does this company even exist? Will never book with 12go Asia again. - 12Go: Dear Victoria Anne Armstrong We are very sorry you've had this experience and we will contact the operator to try to understand the situation. Hope the rest of your time in Sapa goes more smoothly, Best regards, Spencer Tiesse, 12Go Business Development Team

January 2017

Steven, Jan 27, 2017 - First the driver was one hour delayed without letting us know. Then, when they finaly arrived, they forgot one passenger (we were already on the road for about 30 minutes). So, we had to wait for another 25 minutes 'till the passenger had arrived. Besides, we booked a different type of van for less people and they picked us up in a larger bus. That is not according our booking. To make the service more worse (yes that is possible) they dropped us of at the corner of the street and let us walk all the way to our hotel with all of our luggage while the arrangement was to drop us of in front of the hotel. We will never recommend this service.
Martin, Jan 18, 2017 - It took little bit longer, we should arrive 20:30 and we were in Hanoi 22:30 but everything OK
Orsolya, Jan 3, 2017 - We waited 1,5 hour on the street for our pick-up. The departure should have been 6:30, the bus left Hanoi 7:30. The bus was dirty and the driver forgot 2 passangers at the stop in the middle of the trip. The bus type was different from what they promised on the homepage.

December 2016

Sarah, Dec 25, 2016 - Good bus and had toilet. Only problem was that it departed an hour later than scheduled.
Sarah, Dec 24, 2016 - Ticket office turned into a bar/restaurant so was unsure that we were even catching a bus. We were then collected an hour before stated ticket exchange time so lucky we were early. A man on a scooter then took us to three locations before we were in the right spot and caught bus. Bus facilities and ride was good but arrived at 4am and remained at the bus stop until 6am with no instructions. Only 'toilet' stop on the way was the side of a main road.

November 2016

Jacob, Nov 20, 2016 - Vers nice trip good driver and on time.
Hew, Nov 16, 2016 - Very comfortable. Good chair, spacious, provided USB port for charging, water, blanket and comes with WiFi. Highly recommended for long hours trip
Joost, Nov 6, 2016 - Bad: 1 hour late departure and arrival, nearly missed flight. Seat adjusting impossible because broken. No information from driver, no english. 12go.asia Sent us to wrong departure adress, it was very confusing to get to the bus. Good: Quite comfortable seats en enough legroom. Fast (when on Time). Cheap compared to Train.

Grouptour

Grouptour VIP Sleeper 41 Inside
Grouptour VIP Sleeper 41 Inside
VIP Sleeper 41 Outside
Grouptour VIP Sleeper 41 Outside
Grouptour VIP Inside
Grouptour VIP Inside
VIP Outside
Grouptour VIP Outside
Grouptour VIP36 Inside
Grouptour VIP36 Inside
VIP36 Outside
Grouptour VIP36 Outside

Schedule Grouptour


08:45, 15:00;
07:30, 13:30;
16:30;
16:30;
3.0 Hanoi - Sapa
07:00, 13:00, 22:00;
3.0 Hanoi - Sapa
06:30, 14:30;
17:00;
18:00;
2.7 Sapa - Hanoi
07:30, 08:00, 13:00, 15:30, 22:00;
2.7 Sapa - Hanoi
08:00, 14:30;
18:00;
18:00;
16:30;

Stations Grouptour

Hanoi SSB, Sapa SSB, Luang Prabang Southern Bus Terminal, Dien Bien Phu Bus station, Muang Khua, Lao Cai SSB, Bac Ha SSB, Cat Ba SSB, Hanoi SB


Comparison Grouptour